It's Showtime, Variety Show

It’s Showtime Philippine TV program

It's Showtime
It’s Showtime

It’s Showtime is a Philippine noontime variety show broadcast by ABS-CBN that premiered in 2009. The show is taped in the ABS-CBN Studios at the ABS-CBN Broadcasting Center in Quezon City. It’s Showtime currently airs in Kapamilya Channel and a simulcast in Jeepney TV every Mondays to Fridays from 12:00 NN to 2:30 PM, and on Saturdays from 12:00 NN to 3:15 PM. It also airs worldwide via TFC, and live-streaming online on YouTube via its channel Showtime Online Universe. A primetime encore telecast is currently airing on Jeepney TV since 2018 every Mondays to Fridays from 9:30 PM to 11:40 PM and on Saturdays from 7:30 PM to 10:30 PM

What began as a search for the country’s most entertaining acts turns into a hit variety program launching a thousand trends for Filipinos and in abroad. Having its distinct brand of entertainment, It’s Showtime thrives on spontaneity and animated conversations. As it keeps on churning out popular catchphrases and gimmicks, the show also draws people from all walks of life to showcase their talents.

It’s Showtime is the second live entertainment program in the Philippines to be broadcast in high-definition. The program is currently ABS-CBN’s longest-running daily noontime variety show after surpassing the original run of MTB (1998–2005) by 2016.

As Showtime!

Showtime premiered on October 24, 2009 at 10:30 am, as a competition program, airing before the network’s noontime shows, and served as the replacement of Pilipinas, Game Ka Na Ba? following its successful 8-year morning run. The original hosts include Vhong Navarro, Anne Curtis, Kuya Kim Atienza, Jugs Jugueta, Teddy Corpuz, and Vice Ganda as the resident “hurado” (unevictable judge). During the third season, the show added former hurados Billy Crawford and Karylle as hosts.

In the first four seasons, Showtimes original competition format was that three groups, each made up of two to twenty-five members (with no age limit), perform a single performance, either a dance and/or song number. Before the performance, one group member is given twenty seconds to make an introduction before ending with the phrase “It’s Showtime!”. After the group’s performance, the hurados and the studio audiences will rate the group from 1 to 10. The group with the highest average scores from the hurados wins the competition. All the winners from Daily will perform to the Weekly Finals; all the winning weekly finalists will advance to the Monthly Finals; and last, the winning monthly finalists will get the chance to compete in the Grand Finals. In the Wildcard Week, the best groups who lost in the weekly and monthly finals will get another chance to compete again in order to win a slot for the Grand Finals. Aside from the talent competition, Showtime also aired quick, short-term segments that offer cash prizes to the studio audiences.

The very first Grand Finals of Showtime was held in July 2010 at the Ynares Center in Antipolo City, Rizal. Forty hurados (including Vice Ganda and Jhong Hilario) were assembled to judge the eleven grand finalists. At the end of the competition, the dance group XB Gensan (from the Wildcard week) emerged as the very first Grand Champion with a final average score of 9.875 pts.

In October 2010, the show was temporarily moved to noontime slot occupying the 11:00 am PHT time slot, while the succeeding program Pilipinas Win na Win followed at 1:30 pm PHT until the latter show was cancelled on December 31, 2010.

Showtime continued to air on the noontime slot in January 2011 until it later returned to its original timeslot on February 12, 2011 to give way for Happy Yipee Yehey!.

On January 28, 2012, Showtime aired a special episode to end its two-year morning competition format with an impartial farewell. It was revealed that the program was preparing for a reformat to become a noontime variety show.

As Magpasikat

Magpasikat is the placeholder show of Showtime during the suspension of the latter. The show had essentially the same format as with Showtime, except that the competing groups were composed of celebrities. Magpasikat aired from January 11, 2010 to January 16, 2010.

As It’s Showtime

It’s Showtime premiered on February 6, 2012 on its new timeslot at 11:30 am, replacing the defunct noontime program Happy Yipee Yehey!. During the first months of relaunch, the show was also simulcast previously on Studio 23 (now ABS-CBN Sports and Action) and CgeTV’s website. It’s Showtime retains all of the main hosts, including Anne Curtis, Vice Ganda and Vhong Navarro, while adding former hurados Jhong Hilario, Ryan Bang and Coleen Garcia. Eric “Eruption” Tai was also added as one of the new hosts during the pilot episode.

It’s Showtime launched new long-term segments, while the original competition format returned once again as one of its special segments. The competitive format was used for one final season, season five. To cater to the entire family audience, a sixth season called the Bida Kapamilya competition was introduced on April 30, 2012.

In January 2018 the show is extended from 3:30 pm, from Mondays-Fridays and 3:30 pm, from Saturdays after the ratings got affected due to rival network GMA Network’s decision since 2017 to air extensively its afternoon drama series on Saturdays right after Eat Bulaga!.

In October 2018, It’s Showtime launched its own YouTube channel Showtime Online Universe. Three digital programs premiered on the channel: “And I Thank You” with Miss Q and A segment grand winner Juliana Parizcova Segovia; “Hashtag Roadtrip” with the Hashtag members; and “Donna What To Do” with Funny One segment season two grand winner Donna Cariaga. The Showtime Online Universe received a Silver Creator Award after getting 100,000 channel subscribers in January 2019.

Showtime’s “Sampu-Sample”

On October 1, 2019, It’s Showtime started to celebrate their 10th anniversary by introducing a new anniversary tagline, “Sampu-Sample” (derived from the word “Sampu” (lit. Ten) and “Sample” which has been used as a catchphrase for the show). One of its main hosts, Kuya Kim Atienza rejoined the program, then some favorite Showtime segments returned, including “Classic Showtime” (including its traditional “Hurado O Burado” segment and the trivia before the “Score Mo, Show Mo” held by Kuya Kim), “Sine Mo’To”“AdVice Ganda” , and other throwback segments, in time for their anniversary. Also, they added their “Biyayang Sampu-Sample” which they will give away prizes for one whole year, as their treat for those who have supported the program.

Last October 2, the show announced that their “Magpasikat 2019” and “Classic Showtime Grand Finals” will be held at Newport Performing Arts Theater, Resorts World Manila on October 21–26 as part of their anniversary treat. The Classic Showtime Grand winner will take home five hundred thousand pesos (₱500,000.00), while Magpasikat 2019 Champion will take home one million pesos (₱1,000,000.00) and a vacation package to their chosen charity. The teams and schedule for Magpasikat 2019 were selected on October 2:

  • Tuesday (October 22): Team Anne and Amy (with Bidaman)
  • Wednesday (October 23): Team Karylle and Ryan (with TNT Boys and TNT Singers)
  • Thursday (October 24): Team Jugs, Teddy and Jhong (with Jackie Gonzaga, Ion Perez, Sanrio, Krissha, Joana and Sammie)
  • Friday (October 25): Team Vhong and Mariel (with Hashtags)
  • Saturday (October 26): Team Vice Ganda (solo) (with Miss Q&A Queens)

On October 26, J-Crisis was announced as winner of the “Classic Showtime” grand finals, and Team Blue, headed by Vice Ganda along with Miss Q and A queens were named as the Grand Winner of “Magpasikat 2019″.

Bir cevap yazın

E-posta hesabınız yayımlanmayacak. Gerekli alanlar * ile işaretlenmişlerdir